DEI Departmental Committee

DEI Departmental Committee

Under the leadership of Professor Anshu Malhotra, the current chair of the department, a departmental DEI committee was created in fall 2022 to continue our efforts to promote and advance diversity, equity and inclusion as well as racial justice at the departmental level. The committee consists of 3 diversity officers (undergraduate, graduate and faculty). Diversity officers are faculty members in each department who advocate for the inclusion of individuals and guide their department to recruit from diverse backgrounds. In our department, the Vice-Chair, Graduate Director and Undergraduate Director all serve as Diversity officers. We have maintained this structure since 2021.

One of the roles of the DEI committee is to hear student, staff, and faculty concerns. We want to ensure that all members of the Global Studies community have a voice in shaping the future of the department. Please reach out to us at, or contact a committee member directly to set up a meeting. If you would prefer to leave anonymous feedback, please submit comments/concerns through this form.


Current Committee (2023-2024)

Nadege T. Clitandre, Committee Chair and undergraduate Diversity Officer

Aashish Mehta, Faculty Diversity Officer and Vice-Chair

Javiera Barandiaran, Graduate Diversity Officer and Graduate Director